Story Window

strand

I was commissioned to do a quick window installation for a new boutique in the Inner Richmond. The shop is called STORY, and the owner couldn’t be sweeter. She pretty much gave me free reign, so I naturally went with a floral theme. STORY is a charming little shop that carries the cutest clothes for toddlers as well as beautifully detailed gifts, accessories, and jewelry. Their back room has also become a new home for some of my paintings to be displayed.

sign

I only have a few pictures to show of the window. The glare of the window is pretty bad during certain hours (of course the hours I show up to take photos) but hopefully they’ll get some lights in there soon! The reflections actually make a pretty interesting picture.

window1window4window3window2

A little explanation- I cut out two big cardboard pieces to frame the corners of the windows to act like curtains/vignettes. I hand-made all those brown paper flowers and bunched them all together for a bustled look. Then there are three strands of paper or crepe flowers on twine that hang like scallops in the middle of the two vignettes. Super simple idea, but incredibly time consuming!! I went through so much paper and burnt my fingers too many times to count. The vignettes are at least 4 feet in length and I only had two days to work on it. I can’t wait to get better whole-window shots, but for now, this will have to do!

STORY is located in the Inner Richmond of San Francisco on Third Avenue and Clement!

One thought on “Story Window

Leave a Reply

