Marker Love

I like using lots of different mediums. Lately it’s been markers- a combination of Prisma, Copic, and Tombow to be specific. I think everyone’s first reaction to “markers” are flashbacks to the Crayola Washables- but I assure you, markers can be quality! This whole marker-use started fairly recent and was a result of my friend moving to New York. She was clearing out everything she owned, wanting to make her move across the country easy-as-pie, and I ended up leaving her apartment with bags of goodies. When she handed me this box of ($$$) markers, I was super hesitant to just take them (like I said, $$$!) but my super sweet friend insisted! So thank you, Lauren! Your incredibly generous gift has changed my art-game!

image

I love how easy it is to just start a piece! Having a bag full of markers and a sketch pad is an incredibly portable art medium. I tend to do my best work at a cafe (have I mentioned how much I love that cliche?), on the floor, or on my bed. As much as I tried- painting in bed doesn’t work. I’m prone to coziness, what can I say. So this particular medium is pretty perfect for me.

I’m happy to say that I’ve been producing lots of work in this style. I haven’t felt this motivated to illustrate since art school. It’s so satisfying finding a formula that work for you.

One thought on “Marker Love

Leave a Reply

